Trailer length..hard to get use too

wingfoot

I'm having some problems getting use to my trailer length (3400RE 36' 9"). I had a 30' SOB and never really had a problem with trailer tracking and negotiating turns, backing, or overall handling. Well, the other day I hit a post on the DS negotiating a right turn. I've been pulling a 5r for over ten years never had a problem. It seems this trailer really tracks WIDE, could be just me. It also seems I have to pull far into the opposing traffic to negotiate turns..especially any right turns.
Aside for the obvious answers, did it take any of you a longer learning curve to pull your longer trailer? I'm just a little paranoid and intimidated by the shear length.

jmgratz

Original Owners Club Member
Just got to be constantly aware of what is back there. I keep using the rear view mirrors constantly to keep track of where the trailer is.

cookie

Administrator
Staff member
I learned real quick the first time I pulled out of the driveway and my mailbox disapeared.
So like Jim, I am always looking in the mirror and have learned to swing wide.

Peace
Dave

brianharrison

You'll get the hang of it! When I started driving long trailers on the farm, dear old dad had me take the Mac and highboy into the field and negotiate the square-bail stooks, backup up, cutting them close, etc, etc. Great experience and practice to really get familiar with how your vehicle and trailer respond.

I now take my boys into empty parking lots and do the same. The DW learned to negotiate our unit in an empty Walmart parking lot with my setting up cones and her driving around for a few hours. Cost me a few new traffic cones, but worth it.