What to pack?

TXTiger

I don't have a rig yet but am almost ready to make the purchase. I am new to RVing and am looking at a fifth wheel toy hauler. I am planning on traveling on the road for a couple of months at a time and eventually going full time. I am traveling alone. Was just wondering what to pack as most of the Cyclone's I am looking at have lots of storage space. Lawn chairs, pick-nic table, BBQ, hoses, tools, lader, extension cords etc. Would love to see a list of "have to have on board" items you all think I should have on board. Thanks in advance for your advise.

Bob&Patty

Founders of SoCal Chapter
My best advise is to buy stuff slowly. Buy stuff that you need...ie....clothes, undies, socks, a heavy and light weight jacket maybe even a rain jacket. Light weight pots and pans, plastic glasses, plastic plates, a cheap set of silverware. Towels, tooth brush, tooth paste, razor you get the picture by now. We always leave this stuff in the BH and only buy fresh stuff for the trip. Find canned foods on sale and leave them in the coach. Look for deals on a few folding recliners and 4' folding table. In other words, what you have in your sticks and bricks only less and smaller. Your best bet is a Wal-Mart if you have one near. DON'T buy lots of stuff. Keep a note pad and make a list everytime you go out if you find you need something. BTW, Wal-Mart has the same stuff as Camping World only cheaper.

A "Weber Q" BBQ is the best one for a RV.

Tools and some electrical repair stuff is a must. A good tire pressure gauge.

A good heavy duty extension cord is a must.

Buy plastic totes to keep stuff in and label them as to whats in them ( clear ones are even better).

Get 1 or 2 more "white" water hoses and a good water pressure regulator.

Get GOOD sewer drain hoses. A 20' and a 10'. Ya just never know what you will need. Wheel chocks and plastic leveling blocks.