What to do when you have a roadside flat

Burtonair01

Hey all I'm a noob to this site so be gentle on me!, I just bought a 2011 Cyclone 3814. So I was loading all of my old trailer stuff into the new one and I came upon my jack for my other trailer, I'm looking at this thing and it scared me, there is no way I could use it to change a flat on my new rig(18000lbs gross weight). So my question is, what type of jack do you all use or have. Or should I just get me some AAA insurance and call for some roadside assistance if I get a flat?

Bksvo

I've used the bottle jack from my F350 before. If it will lift a fully loaded F350, it will have no problem with a trailer axle. I've also seen a drive up chock in the Camping World catalog - you drive the nearest good tire up on the chock to raise the trailer. They were about $50 IIRC. Or you could spend several thousand on an auto-leveling system that will raise the trailer for you :)

I'm planning on buying a tire pressure monitoring system for my new trailer, so hopefully I can avoid changing blow outs on the side of the road...

brianharrison

I carry a 12 ton bottle jack. And a tire wrench to fit the lugs. The wood blocking I carry for the trailer leveling/stabilizer jacks doubles as jacking blocks if needed.

I only jack on the frame, not axles.

Brian

rick_debbie_gallant

We carry a twenty ton unit. It is "air over hydraulic". Meaning that you can use an air compressor of the hydraulic handle to raise it. It works great, plus the second use could be as a boat anchor. :rolleyes:

GOTTOYS

I carry some warning triangles for the road, a hydraulic bottle jack, lug wrench, a set of sockets and a large breaker bar. Most important I carry a cell phone and a membership card for Roadside Assistance. I can change a tire if I have to, but I ain't getting any younger...Don

codycarver

Founding Wyoming Chapter Leader-retired