Attaching stuff to the walls

djlogan

I just saw a clip on you tube, and a person demonstrated attaching things to an RV wall using Pop Rivets. Granted that there would certainly be weight limitations, but I tried it with a piece of melamine about the same thickness and composition as an RV wall and it seemed to work. Has anyone out there actually used the pop rivet method?

cookie

Administrator
Staff member
I have had some limited experience with pop rivets.
However, these were not the ordinary pop rivets. The had a special end that went into the wall. When the pop rivet tool tightened the rivet it had a large expansion behind the wall. Not just the little bump found on ordinary pop rivets.
That's all I got.

Peace
Dave

RoadJunkie

Rivets will work but I would suggest selective consideration regarding the type of rivet you end up using. A "conventional", hobbyist-type rivet, usually requires a washer placed on the blind side to distribute the load. There are rivets described as "Load Spreading" rivets that will eliminate the need for a backing washer. The Load Spreading rivets also claim they will not crush softer, non metallic, materials. I suggest you do a search for this type of rivet and select based on the thickness of material. Good luck.

Sumo

We use Command Strips from 3m. They keep the pictures on the wall and we can move them without leaving any marks in the wall.

robnmo

We use Command Strips from 3m. They keep the pictures on the wall and we can move them without leaving any marks in the wall.

The wife uses the command strips, in various sizes, but every so often one will fall off the wall, we're assuming due to being on the vinyl wall covering. She's tried using mild soapy water, plain water etc prior to sticking the command strip, is there a secret to making them stay?

Hastey

Oklahoma Chapter Leaders