PDA

View Full Version : Need advice on portable generators

SeldomSeen
07-15-2012, 11:40 AM
Just purchased a 2011 Heartland Greystone 29MK and thinking about using a portable generator for trips that might require some dry camping. Any suggestions as to how big (watts) it might take and any brands better than others, sound also an issue. I will run it outside in the rear of the unit, will use propane for water heater and stove. Only need for tv and the wife's curling irons and hair dryers and the like, maybe air once in a while if needed (only 1 unit). Weight might also be an issue, could put in on the units bumper or carry in the bed of the truck, but getting up and down might present itself as a problem. I'm a novice at this process so any assistance would be appreciated.

pattihobe
07-15-2012, 12:03 PM
We use a Honda 3K, It will run everything you want just not everything at one time. Its as quiet as you can get and is easy on fuel.

brianharrison
07-15-2012, 02:01 PM
I suggest a Honda EU2000 - 2000 watt, quiet and should do everything you want except run a 13,500 BTU air conditioner. If you wish, you can expand to 4000W by purchasing another 2000W in the future and couple them together with the EU2000 Companion unit or parallel kit.

An alternate is to purchase the Honda 1000EU, however it will only give your half the wattage (of course) and I do not beleive it can be coupled with additional units.

I would NOT get the generic hardware store, construction generator - as these are too loud for campgrounds, in my opinion. There are other quiet brands out there (usually inverter types) such as Boily, Yamaha, simiar to Honda that others with experience with may chime in on.....

Hope this helps.
Brian

EDIT - Honda power equipment website has some good info on Determining RV Power Needs for Generators (http://powerequipment.honda.com/generators/generator-how-much-power). There are other sites out there as well.

gmc
07-15-2012, 02:13 PM