Generator help?

SeldomSeen

Okay, thanks everyone for your input, it was very helpful and provoked additional investigation. Here is what I'm thinking now. My unit is a 15.0 btu A/C that will take about 20 amps to start and less to continue to function. If I hook up two yamaha 2000's that should give me about 4000 watts of startup or 33 amps and 3200 watts or 26.6 amps to continue running. I think that should be enough to run the A/C and maybe the tv. No curling irons until something get shut off however and coffee will just have to wait. Any additional thoughts regarding this issue?

Since I'm a newbie to this generator stuff I really did need some advise and then after doing a lot of research I still want some assurances from people a whole lot smarter than I that my calculations are correct. Any assistance appreciated. Thanks for the help you guys are all fantastic!

pegmikef

That should do fine. I have the Honda 2000s and they produce almost exactly the same as you said the Yamahas produce. I, too, have a 15K btu a/c and they run it just fine. You can hear them surge just a little at startup, but then they settle right back down. I put a meter on the line and the a/c actually only draws a little over 1400 watts after it is started. I can't tell you how much it takes to start the a/c because my meter only goes to 1800 watts. I run mine in the economy mode which works well, but assumes you don't have any big ticket items (e.g., microwave, coffeee pot, HW heater, etc) running. I can run the TV, satellite receiver and a fan as well as the a/c. We run the reefer and HW heater on gas when we are using the generators. For coffee, we use our old stove top percolator that we have from our tent camping days. Works great.

dave10a