Leaking when it rains

RexCindy

Hi! I am very new at campers and I purchased the camper off a private owner. The only thing that I did not know was that the warranty will not transfer over. We have a 2011 22RBQ and the very first weekend my husband and I went camping; it rained. When I went to bed I had tucked my hand under the top of the mattress to make sure the bedding was tucked under; I felt water. I then lifted the mattress off the platform and yep you guess we had WATER coming in both sides!!!! Not a lot but enough to get the blankets wet. Once we got home, my husband used silicone rubber sealant (50 year durability guarantee) and has worked on the one side but not on the other side. Does anyone know possibly where there could be possible leaks on the entry door side in the bedroom? The water is coming in under the cabinet onto the bed's platform.

It's not a very good start for being first time campers:(. Much help is welcomed, since I don't want to spend thousands of dollars on a new camper.

jimtoo

Hi Rex and Cindy,

Welcome to the Heartland Owners Forum and Family. We have a great bunch of people here with lots of information and all willing to share their knowledge when needed.

I'm sure some of our other members will jump in soon to give some ideas or help with finding the leak.

Enjoy the forum and think about joining the Heartland Owners Club and attending some of the rallies around the country.

Jim M

Hastey

Oklahoma Chapter Leaders
Hi Rex and Cindy!

Welcome to the forum and it's always good to see another Rex.

Can you be more specific about the leak? Is it a slide? Where did he silicone? etc.

I'm not familiar with the 22RBQ (sounds like a BBQ sandwich from Arby's :cool:) but I'll go look at a layout. Someone here will help you find the problem.

RexCindy

That's funny BBQ..:D We do not have a slide. Rex has siliconed both sides (outside) of the bedroom starting at the top and going down to the windows in the bedroom.