Is my truck enough?

Kuhlkent

I am new to the 5th wheel world and just recently purchased both my truck and Cyclone 300C. The truck I bought months ago. It is a 1997 Ford F350 full bed four door 7.3 turbo diesel two wheel drive dualie. I thought that truck could pull anything. Bought the Cyclone about 2 weeks ago and just pulling it home my exhaust temp was pegged and my tranny temp was at 210. Although there were multiple visits to the Cyclone dealer including fitting my gooseneck, there was never even the slightest mention of my vehicle capacity to tow the rig. Since the 300C is one of the "smaller" toy haulers, once again, I just assumed I was good. After digging in to the extremely confusing world of all of the various things that need to be factored in in pulling a trailer like this, I find I may be over my limit. Good thing I didn't buy the 3010 they were trying to sell me. Anyway, can someone help me out? I called Ford and although the max tow weight is 10,000 lbs, they said my max 5th wheel weight is 13,800. Still with a dry weight of 11,950, that doesn't give me much room. I dont want to blow up my truck but I have $12,500 into it now just getting new tires and front end. Have I screwed up? Also, don't know about legal limits, fines, braking etc. Nothing ever mentioned in the sale even though I was clear that this was our first experience. Looking at tow weight rating of even the new trucks they are about 13,000 lbs. How are we supposed to tow these things? With a Peterbuilt?

Kent

cookie

Administrator
Staff member
Hi Kent, welcome to the Heartland Owners Forum and Heartland Family.
I am not a Ford guy, but those temps seem awful high.
You should not be having any problems towing that rig with that truck.
Is it chipped?
I don't think you have screwed up. Although if you didn't get a 'Goose Box', using a gooseneck hitch could void your frame warranty.
Ford people will chime in shortly and voice their opinion.

Peace
Dave

GOTTOYS