electric hot water issue

ash

I have a brand new. Sundance 2900MK. After I bought it had it set-up for 2 months and the electric hot water worked fine. Then I moved it to a new location and now it's not working. Propane side works just fine. Have read some other threads on this. Have made sure that the rocker switch is on. Checked the breaker and even flipped it on/off. Also pushed the re-set buttons on the heater itself, but no clicks heard. The switch inside lights up but no hot water. Any ideas what else I should do or try? I'm new to all this so will need specific answers.

Thanks for any help.

cookie

Administrator
Staff member
There are a couple of things you can check.
First of all, disconnect from shore power. Then remove the cover from around your breaker panel. Then remove the breaker panel. Make sure all the wires on the breakers are tight. Also check the neutral wires.
Check the connections at the water heater itself.
After you have checked all the connections turn the power on and using your multimeter see if you have 120 volts at the heater element. One wire will be neutral and one will be 120v. You will most likely have to remove a cover on the water heater to access the element.
If you have 120 at the element but no heat, change the element.
When you moved sites, did you drain your water heater and maybe turn it on without water in it? That could ruin the element.
Also there is a thermostat on the water heater. I am not sure how to check that. Perhaps someone else has that information.
Let us know what you find.

Peace
Dave

danemayer

Here's a schematic of the water heater circuit along with a diagram of the components. In normal operation, with the switch on, power flows through the thermostat and through the overtemp cut-off switch on the way to the heating element. If you're getting power all the way to the heating element, and you don't have lose wires, it's probably a heating element failure.