Need a satellite dish antenna

olcoon

I'm new to satellite TV, and after having it since the first of the month I can turn on the TV & watch a program...I've even set up the DVR, to record a program, I can even watch it! We only have 2 TV's hooked up to it, & so they (Dish TV) gave us 1 receiver & both TV's run off it. When I talked to the tech about taking the receiver on the road with us, he said we'll have to be careful with it as it can be damaged easily, so I kept the box & packing. He also told me that an automatic dish won't work & I'll have to get one of the manual ones. So with all the activity I've seen on here about people switching to the automatic ones, I was wondering if anybody has a dish they'd like to get rid of. From what I've seen there are different models out there & I have no idea which one I'd need.

danemayer

Hi Noobie,

Welcome to the Heartland Owners Forum. There's a lot of useful information here and as you've already figured out, it's a great place to share what you've learned and to get help from others.

NWILSON

Kentucky Chapter Leaders - retired
I'm using Directv without High-Def service. It's been pretty easy to point a single receiver dish (only one knob extending from the dish). The multi-receiver dishes require a bit more finess to align as they are looking at more than one satellite.
Used dishes are pretty easy to acquire...nose around and you'll find one cheap on Craig's list or EBay or possibly even free from an installer. They are usually left in place when service is cancelled and replaced whenever service is restarted.
New ones with a tripod are on EBay all the time for about $60.

danemayer