satellite installation 37QB

I am interseted in putting a new satellite system in my new fifth wheel. First of all, I am a total novice at satellite systems, but not totally helpless! I am not sure how to do the install. I am wondering if the satellite feed on the outside of the RV, will feed every coax in the RV? I have one hook up for cable (simple to figure out), and a sattelite hook up. In my mind (heres where it could really go wrong), I should be able to get a satellite antenna that will support numerous recievers, hook it into my satellite feed. Then put a reciever at each of my coax outlets, and wah-lah! SATELLITE!. I have not purchased my equipt yet. For fear my master plan will not work. I would love for someone to enlighten me on how I am probably way off target here. Any advice is appreciated!!!!!

danemayer

Hi jeremyhart72,

The basic idea is sound. You need a dish that supports multiple outputs, or a splitter that will work with the dish. You need receivers that are compatible with the dish. If you have multiple satellite coax lines in your RW, you can feed dish output to each, with receivers attached to the other end of the coax.

Satellite signals will not work on the cable/antenna coax wiring in your rig - the satellite frequencies won't pass through the signal booster or splitters used on those lines.

Many Heartland trailers have the outside satellite connections in the UDC (above the water connections). If your rig is pre-wired for a rooftop unit, there may be 4 connectors. 2 go to the rooftop pre-wiring. The other 2 typically go to the living room and bedroom. If you install a rooftop dish, you would use jumpers to connect the rooftop wires to the living room/bedroom connectors in the UDC. If you use a tripod mounted dish, you would just connect the dish to the living room/bedroom connectors in the UDC.