Bought a New Computer

jayc

Texas-South Chapter Leaders
I recently bought a new Toshiba computer using Windows 7 as the operating system and then switched over to Google Chrome for the browser. It does seem to be much faster but I am still learning to use some of the features.

My problem is that after I read a new post, it still shows up in a bold font, when with the old system, the post would go "gray" to note that I had read it. I notice that on other forums the same thing happens. I have checked the settings on Chrome and find nothing there and wonder if it something in the operating system that I can change?

It's not a big deal, but I hope someone with better computer skills than me can help me out. I'm sure that if my 15 year old grandson was here, he could change it in about 2 seconds

jayc

Jon, I asked one of the Geek Squad guys at Best Buy and you would think I asked him for the nuclear launch codes. He looked puzzled and brought up the same help screen and settings screen that I had done already and told me he didn't think it could be changed.

jimtoo

Jon and Jay, Mine does the same thing, has been doing it all the time, at least for the last 3 years or so. Sometimes it works for the first few I look at then stops. Sometimes it never does change. Running XP Pro on PC and 7 on Laptop. I think it's the forum operating system, but it don't bother me anymore.

Jim M

jayc

I'm on IE on the same computer with the same results. Just to check, I fired up the old computer and it worked as it always has, showing threads that have been read, so I guess it's something in the newer operating system.

wdk450

JayC:
I have pretty much the same computer, OS, and browser as you. I don't have this problem in the long term. While ina browsing session it will appear this way until I do a refresh on my "search" page (for me, "New Posts" under the "Forum" link).

Maybe it is some forum configuration.

olcoon