Fulltiming in a sundance in the winter.

ash

Hello all,

I am new to most of this. Have some experience as a kid, but not much knowledge. Although I do find this site extremely helpful.

I travel for work and am constant moving so I invested and bought a Sundance 2900MK to live in. I was hoping to head south for the winter months, but doesn't look like that is going to be an option. :( Currently in the midwest and winter is coming. Down into the 20s tonight. My basement is heated so I'm keeping the furnace up but burning through propane like crazy. Looking for some tips and ideas to stay warm, not freeze up and save a few dollars.

I'm thinking about investing in a skirt to keep things warmer underneath and possibly more insulation in the underbelly. Also wondering if I should consider a heated hose or would heat tape be a better option. Finally once I land my next job assignment and get settled in I'll definitely be renting a larger propane tank to decrease the hassle of constantly refilling.

Appreciate any and all advice.

Thank You

Ashley
Sundance 2900MK
GMC Sierra 2500HD Duramax diesel

danemayer

Hi Ash,

Looking at weatherspark.com, it looks like Wisconsin gets pretty cold. I checked Madison for January and saw a lot of single digit lows, with historic lows in the 25 below zero range. Pretty cold.

Water - you have a choice: get a heated water hose and leave it hooked up or fill the fresh tank as needed and put the drained hose away afterward.

Sewer - you'll have to manage the gate valves around the weather. They'll freeze at subzero temps. Inconvenient if that happens when the tanks are full. The standard flexible sewer hose is probably pretty easy to break when it's frozen. You might want to get 3" pvc and a rubber fitting to adapt it to a sewer hose coupling - Home Depot parts.