Surge Protection in BH 301RE

Phatkd

So I was talking with "Cookie" last night. He has convinced me that I need surge protection in my rig. I would like to have some sort of display where I can see what is going on IE; how many amps/watts I am drawing and any faults that are oucuring. Does anyone have any knowledge of a unit that does that? Going to need a 50amp unit and would like it all hard wired.

Cheers,.Kris

Phatkd

Thanks guys! I will order one up in the next few weeks. How hard/easy is the install? I have ZERO experience with wiring.

brianharrison

I would suggest you have someone help that has some wiring/electrical knowledge to assist. It is not too hard, just need to have some smarts on cutting wires, stripping the right amount of insulation back, re-terminating correctly, etc. Working with 6/3 wire can be frustrating as it is a bit hard to work with/bend around and terminate inside the EMS while also installing the current rings. My experience. It is important to get it right.

Hope this helps.
Brian

Phatkd

Helps a pile! I will buy the unit and have the dealership install it for me. The charge a $200 premium for that unit if I buy it through them. This way I am only paying for the install which is still $140/hr.

jnbhobe

I think I'll 5th it, we are all useing the Progressive EMS when you install it make sure to move it away from all water. I got a piece of 6/4 SO cable to install mine, no cutting then.

Garypowell

I just installed one in my 3010 between yesterday and today. Probably can't go into too much detail with my index finger but........

I could not get to the wire via the basement. So I looked at the plug area in the back.

First don't take off the plastic panel that you can see when you sit under the slide out looking aft. You can see the back of the plug and wire as it goes into the frame but that's all.