Sundance 3310 MKS

Shamrock

At an RV show in Denver last week, I placed a deposit on a new 3310MKS Sundance. The unit is so new, the manufacturer's website doesn't have any of the specifications listed (length, GVWR, etc). I really liked the floor plan and standard features, and spent a good deal of time talking to the factory rep about the build quality of Heartland products. Because this is a mid-level unit, it doesn't come prewired for a genset. I was told that I could buy a couple Yamaha portables and gang them together, but I'm not sure how inconvenient this would be. For example, should I hard-mount them in the bed of the truck or just carry them in the storage area? :confused: Does anyone have experience with the portable gensets and could advise me on their use. The 3310MKS has 50amp service. I'm new to the Heartland Forum and am excited about our upcoming RV adventures! :)

cookie

Administrator
Staff member
Hello Shamrock and welcome to the Heartland Owners Forum and Family. There is a lot of good information here.
One thing many people have done is to add a carrier to the back of the rig. There are several designs thought up by members.
I got my ideas from two different people and combined them.
I welded two receivers on the back of my rig. One to each I-beam. Then designed a rack that would suit my needs.
On that rack I carry two 2k Kippor generators. I should have gotten a 3k Honda. Much quieter.
I carry them in a box made by Gear Deck. It works great for me.

Peace
Dave

Shamrock

Thanks Dave. Mounting them to the back sounds like a good solution for weight distribution as well. Are yours configured so you can start and stop them from inside your rig? That's something I will miss by having portables if it's not possible to remotely start them.....

cookie

Administrator
Staff member
I cannot start them remotely. The Honda 3k could have remote start.
But one thing is, that you will have to plug the genny into the coach.