Unit blows GFCI breaker

Deepsky3539

Whenever I hook my unit up to an external plug at my house, it blows the house GFCI breaker. If I use a non-GFCI plug, it doesn't seem to have any issues then. After talking with my dealer this past week, he told me that I could not use a GFCI plug. Aren't most of the campgrounds using GFCI plug's. I don't hook up much (4 times in the last 8 years) but I have a long trip planned and I would hate to get there and be out of luck. I am running a 50 foot extension cord but I am not trying to run anything beyond a few lights. My old 25 foot TT never had issues but it only had a 30 amp plug. Maybe the 50 amp setup is the issue but I am not an expert on power. The unit came with the 80 amp converter if that helps. Just looking for a little clarification. Thanks.

jbeletti

Marty,

It's a long shot, but make sure your the switch for your electric water heater element is OFF, then try the GFCI outlet on your house again.

From experience in my TT, unknowingly, I fried the electric heating element by turning it on when the water heater had no water in it. Then when I tried to connect to 30 amp power at a state CG, I kept blowing their breaker and all weekend long, I had no idea as to the cause. Two days of troubleshooting in the driveway and I found out why. The GFCI did not like that electrical short I had created in the water tank.

Another idea is that perhaps you are overloading the GFCI circuit??

Good luck,

Jim

snuffy

I'm no expert either but I don't think it is supposed to trip a GFCI. I'd say something is askew. Do you have one of those plug in fault detectors? That may give you a clue that something is miswired.

Oldlthrneck

Just an Old Jarhead