seal change

Bobby A

Maybe you guys could help me cut to the chase without reading all the posts for what I'm looking for. I've been procrastinating on changing the seals in my Sealand 210 toilet in fear of doing something wrong and making it worse. Is there a post somewhere on hear of someone giving a step by step process in removing and replaceing the seals, so I could print it out and have it right next to me as I tear into this thing. I'm just kinda scared to do it by myself, I've never done one before. Thanks very much.

Bobby A

GOTTOYS

If the water is leaking out of the bowl, before you change the seal try this first. Let the water out of the bowl and with your hand, press the in place all the way around the opening. Next pour a kettle of very hot water into the bowl and let it sit for a half hour or so. Then flush it again, fill the bowl and let it sit. Most likely this will take care of it. This procedure was right out of the Dometic owners manual. It has always worked for me, without having to replace the seal. I don't believe you need to remove the toilet to replace the seal. Look online for their owners manual in the event the first procedure doesn't work..Don

Ray LeTourneau

Senior Member - Past Moderator
Bobby, it's a simple fix. Try GOTTOYS option first. Even use some Vaseline to coat the seal. Wear some latex type gloves of course. I smear a bunch on a toothbrush and brush it in and around and under the lip of the seal.
If you still feel the need or want to change the seals, it's about a 20-30 minute job.

Turn off the water. Not really necessary but will prevent an accidental flush while working on the toy toy.
Pop the front cover off and the side cover for the pedal. Behind the toilet up at the top, you have to remove the cover for the aerator thingy. Twist the aerator back and forth and pull it out of the rubber grommet.
There are 2 screws holding the flush valve on. Remove them and pull the plumbing out of the way.