Buying a 2011 sundance 3300CK. Any opinions on this camper(good or bad)? ?best 5th wheel hitch?

I am going to buy a 2011 sundance 3300ck and was wondering if anybody has any input on this camper. Also, I have a 2010 Silverado HD 6.0L gas engine crew cab with a 6 1/2 foot box. What would be the best 5th wheel hitch to get? I am new to having a camper with a 5th wheel hitch. Thank you

cookie

Administrator
Staff member
Hello Snatchypants14 and welcome to the forum. There is a lot of great information here.
The 3300CK has a GVWR of nearly 14,000 pounds so you will need to be sure that your truck can handle that.
Is your Silverado a 2500? A 1500 wont cut it.
A gasser may lack some power when going up hill or into the wind. So give that some consideration.
A lot of people do tow with a gas engine.

Hitches have weight ratings, so what ever hitch you get just be sure that it has the proper rating.
I would go with an 18K rated hitch.

Enjoy that new Sundance when you get it.
And check the Portal Page for rally events. There is a rally in the Amana Colonies this coming fall. It will be a fun event. Consider attending and showing off your new rig. You will also get to meet other Heartland owners that are willing to share mods and other information.

Peace
Dave

jbeletti

Sundance is a great product. As you are buying a unit that was likely produced in 2010, it's been outdoors for up to 3 years. Nothing wrong with that. You'll just want to look it over well, make any repairs and do any preventative maintenance required.

Couple items that come to mind that buyers of any used coach would want to attend to:
  • Walk the roof to inspect everything up there: Roof vents, antenna, AC cover and most importantly, caulking sealant around the edges of the roof material and self-leveling sealant on/around anything attached to the roof