Jensen AM/FM/CD/DVD questions

Speedygoss

I have a 2013 heartland Prowler with the Jensen unit in it. I am completely new to the RV thing and I have 2 questions.

1.) The display screen is always lit up even when I turn the power off. In storage my battery is always dead when I go get it for a trip. This is the only thing I can come up with draining the battery. Is there a way to tun this off completely?

2.) I hooked a 32" LCD TV to it using the RCA cords on the back of the unit. I get Video on the TV but only get sound throughout the campers speakers. I can not get sound through the TV speakers. Is this normal?

Thanks,
Speedy.

danemayer

Hi Speedy,

I'm not sure about whether you can cut power to the Jensen without adding a switch, but even if you could, there are other parasitic loads (alarms for example). You really should consider adding a battery cutoff switch that turns everything off at the battery.

On the TV, I'd suggest checking the RCA cords at both ends to make sure you're plugged into the audio OUT at the DVD player and the audio IN at the TV. These devices use the same rca phone connectors for other functions and it's easy to plug them in wrong. If everything is good there, you'll want to check audio menus on both devices.

Speedygoss

Hi Speedy,

I'm not sure about whether you can cut power to the Jensen without adding a switch, but even if you could, there are other parasitic loads (alarms for example). You really should consider adding a battery cutoff switch that turns everything off at the battery.

On the TV, I'd suggest checking the RCA cords at both ends to make sure you're plugged into the audio OUT at the DVD player and the audio IN at the TV. These devices use the same rca phone connectors for other functions and it's easy to plug them in wrong. If everything is good there, you'll want to check audio menus on both devices.