Attaching things / hardware - MPG construction & structure?

johnmichael

Just got a 2011 MPG-183 - its my first RV. I have extensive renovation experience with homes, but am not familiar with how this trailer is built. Before I start screwing things like towel bars, clothes hooks, rod holders. etc into the walls, roof etc - I'd like to know how its made and what everyone's experience is for the best way for attaching things is. (wall anchors, screws, glue, etc)

Any help for this babe-in-the-woods rookie?

Thanks
jm

bigmaho

Just got a 2011 MPG-183 - its my first RV. I have extensive renovation experience with homes, but am not familiar with how this trailer is built. Before I start screwing things like towel bars, clothes hooks, rod holders. etc into the walls, roof etc - I'd like to know how its made and what everyone's experience is for the best way for attaching things is. (wall anchors, screws, glue, etc)

Any help for this babe-in-the-woods rookie?

Thanks
jm

Hi Jim,
I installed a couple of windows and a solar panel in my 181. I'm attaching a couple of photos of the section I cut out for the window. It's 1 1/16th inches wide and it's a sandwich of what seems to be 3/4 styrofoam, 1/8" pressboard and 1/16th inch exterior. I had to screw in to install cable guides for the solar panel. I drilled starter holes and shot them with silicon adhesive then screwed in 3/4" screws. Holds well.

Attachments

• mpg side panel.jpg
    mpg side panel.jpg
    355.3 KB · Views: 137
  • mpg side panel detail.jpg
    mpg side panel detail.jpg
    480.6 KB · Views: 131

johnmichael

Hi Jim,