Progressive EMS

olcoon

Finally got the Progressive EMS-HW50 with remote display delivered last week, and had/took time to install it today. I'm no electrician by any means. After reading the manual several times, going over the posts on here about installing it, and talking to happykraut, who recently put one in his new Big Horn, I got brave enough to tackle it. It was as straight forward as it appeared to be. The only problem was the super stiff wiring Heartland uses. The amazing thing is when I plugged it in....IT WORKED! Now I've got to get it mounted, and get everything put back together. My main dilemma is where to mount it. Behind the breaker box is a box like area and 3 of the walls are just thin paneling, including the ceiling area. I really don't want to mount it on the floor, as there is a water line going through there. So if I mount it in that area, the only choice I've got is on the outside wall, which appears to be solid. I'm not sure about mounting it there because I don't want the screws to go clear through the wall to the outside. I'm thinking with using short screws there shouldn't be a problem, as I'm thinking that that wall is at least 1/2" thick, but it's hard to tell. A couple of benefits of doing this is that we had an annoying squeak in the top step going into the bedroom & I got that fixed, and I put a couple of wood strips under the converter to get it off the floor.

happykraut

Roy, as we discussed on the phone, I would just put a 2x8 (or a double layer) on the floor and set the EMS on top of it. On the BC I mounted the remote on the carpeted steps. A little inconvenient when reading it, but leaves no holes when you pull it out to put in your next rig.

Garypowell

I agree with Bernie that putting the unit on the floor raised up a bit would be OK. I have never had a leak in my basement but I can't imagine it would get too deep in there with the holes in the floor. I would put something over it to prevent a direct spray.