Generator/Inverter

foldbak

Hey Guys and Gals,

Well I'm new to the Prowler family as I just upgraded from a 1993 24 foot Jayco to a 2005 290FLS. I love the floor plan and the pop out. There is so much more space then my last trailer. Now I can actually play fetch with my brown Lab "Rusty" in the trailer. I've been doing some upgrades to it such as LCD TV, stereo, etc. getting ready for it's madden voyage. My wife and I (and Rusty of course) are going to the American river for a few days next month to ring out the bugs. I'm in the process of installing a generator and inverter and have many question that I hope you can help with. :confused:

My Jayco was equipped with a custom built-in Onan 2500 watt gas generator and a 1500 watt inverter which worked great! Both unit had remotes inside making operation easy. My challenge is that I'm going to attempt the same upgrade on my own in my new Prowler. I purchased a 3600LP Onan nearly new for a great price. I'm going to mount it in the rear storage compartment. I know I'm sacrificing storage but it's my only option if I want push button operation.

First lets talk about mounting the generator. I'll need to drill 6 mounting holes to bolt the unit to the floor. (will need template). I'll also need to drill a hole for the oil drain. The muffler will need a hole as well. My understanding is that the unit pulls air in from the front side and pushes the hot air out of the bottom near the exhaust. I'll need to cut in a vent on the rear compartment door for fresh air.

1. Do I need to cut out a large vent size hole at the exhaust to help with heat?
  2. Since this is a wood floor do I need to do anything special to protect the cutouts?

I'll need to drill a hole for the propane hose and remote wiring.
  1. Can I use the rubber hose supplied or do I need to use ridged pipe? My intent is to run about 18' along the frame rail and tee it into the stove.