RV vs Truck GPS user updates?

fcwatson

et al:

Pulling the BigHorn 3875FB (41ft).

After reading reviews on numerous GPS models to the point of blurred eye sight, I see the perfect GPS has not been developed ...yet. Reviews are all across the spectrum.

Two fears, low bridge and getting into situation where I have to back up.

I'm leaning towards the Rand McNally RVND 7720.

Any recommendations, experience on this or another good GPS system?

Thanx in advance
- Fred

danemayer

Hi Fred,

I've been using the Garmin Dezl 560LMT for a couple of years and am happy with it. I have the profile set for 13'3" vs measured height of 13'1". It routes me around low clearances and has a number of other nice features.

I don't care for the built in POIs all that much and have added some using the Garmin tools on the PC.

When planning trips, I plug the Garmin into the computer, locate each destination on Mapquest or Google Maps and send the location to the Garmin where it shows up in the Favorites list. Each day when starting out, I select the next destination from the Favorites list.

On Interstates, there's a nice feature called EXIT SERVICES that shows fuel, food and other things at each upcoming exit.

On our last trip, I compared it to the IPAD App GPS CoPilot ($15.00) for U.S. The CoPilot has a beautiful large screen with much nicer navigation details, especially when approaching turns and exits. It's a bit more aggressive on shorter distance routing than the Garmin. One weakness is the max height that can currently be set in the profile is 13'0". I've asked them to raise the limit and have asked if the app will route me around low clearances, or just provide some kind of warning before I take off the A/C unit. The support people didn't know the answer but promised to find out. If you happen to have an IPAD, for $15.00 this is a good deal.

fcwatson

Dan, Thank you for your reply.