Suburban Furnace Troubleshooting

CrazyCooter

Since the rig was new, the furnace has been really noisy at start up, but figured it was just because it was much larger than my last unit.

Sometimes everything is normal, but more times than not, the blower starts, then the gas valve opens and will ignite. It then sounds like a jet powering up for takeoff and vibrates the floor and cabinets. Sometimes it take 2 or three tries for it to ignite, but this last trip it was in the low 20's at night and I would wake up cold and the furnace failed to light. I would then reset the thermostat and try again before going back to bed.

I have a screen over the inlet/outlets, but it had this problem before I installed it. I have tried a separate tank/regulator combo with the same results.

It really sounds like it is a lean fuel condition due to the violent nature of the hum followed by the flame going out, but I'm no appliance mechanic either....

danemayer

Hi CrazyCooter,

I found the following guidance that applies to older Suburban furnaces. Not sure if current models are the same.

A symptom of too much primary air will be a howling or screeching noise when the
burner is on. Reduce the air by turning the adjustment screw counterclockwise.

I'm not sure how you would get to the adjusting screw, and it's dangerous to run experiments on gas systems. So this might be something best left to a trained technician.

You probably have a 2 year warranty on the furnace, so Suburban may cover the repair.

CrazyCooter

Thanks for the quick response! Guess I should pull the access door off, get the model#, and then download the service manual. It would be nice if it was a simple adjustment.

Everything is out of warranty by now, but I do have an extended warranty if it is something serious though. I do know a few RV techs too.

57chevyconvt