Extended warranties needed ??

I was filling out the warranty card on our new 3400RL today and noticed that several appliances have an option for an extented warranty. I think if I remember correctly that it was for the furnance and the hot water heater and refrig. The olevia tv also has this option. I usually pass on all extended warranty plans (vehicles, etc) but I am not familiar with the failure rates on any of the RV appliances as I am fairly new to the RV scene. Any recomendations as always will considered and appreciated.
Thanks, Jeff :rolleyes:

jpmorgan37

Jeff & Kristina;

Check the manufacturers warranty on each of your appliances because some of them come standard with a two or three year warranty, so look at each one carefully before you sign up for the extended service contract.

John

vangoes

Jeff & Kristinia
That decision is always a judgement call regardless. My fiver is the sixth ( I think) Rv that I have had and this one is the only one that I have had any of the systems/appliances fail. My microwave rolled craps three times in the first year; however, even if not under warranty they are cheap enough that paying for an extended warranty would not be justified. My last RV (a motorhome) was 8 years old and never had any problems. Sooo, I guess I really didn't help you much..............other than to say, the extended warranties are very expensive and in my experiences they would not have paid for themselves. Surely as I say this, with my luck when I pull out on Sunday something will no doubt prove me wrong!......Good luck with your decision.

Thanks for the responses. Actually the two appliances that I guess I was most concerned about are the water heater and the furnance. They offer an extended warranty on each for $25.00. These units are fairly expensive to replace (about $600 ea.). We plan to use the BH quit regularly and didn't know about the longevity of the heaters. Like I said, I'm not a extended warr. type of guy but $25.00?? What the hey.