Hydraulic Front Landing Gear Issue

slborba

I just bought a 2007 Heartland Landmark Monticello and have an issue with the hydraulic front landing gear issue.
As I push the "extract" part of the switch the landing gear goes down, as I push the "retract" part of the switch the landing gear goes down. I cannot get the landing gear to extract (go up). The landing gear is now almost completely retracted, too low for me to get it on the hitch and take to a dealership.
This is my first time pulling a fifth wheel - I've always been a Class C owner. I did a stupid newbie mistake and drove off after I unhitched everything, but.....the emergency break-away switch....that got pulled out. I replaced it. Could that have done something to the landing gear?
Thank you in advance for any/all help.
Steve

cookie

Administrator
Staff member
As long as you can retract the front landing gear you can always get a couple of bottle jacks under the front frame to raise your rig so that you can hitch up.
If you have hydraulics, it sounds like there may be a stuck valve, or the switch is bad and not sending the correct signal.
Hopefully someone with knowledge of that particular rig will chime in and have some helpful information for you.

Peace
Dave

hoefler

The switch is toast, pull it out and go to an autoparts store for a replacement. Before disconnecting the wires, take a picture.

slborba

Dave: Thanks. Funny thing is that it extracted find when I lifted it from the hitch area --- after that it only would retract. I'm not a hydraulics guy, but I guess I better start learning fast.

Steve

Garypowell

Part of the problem of me fully understanding is just like when Linda says "please turn the a/c down". But no matter I believe I understand that your pin is lower than the hitch.

I would get two bottle jacks and then jack up the front as high as they can go. Then take wood and put it under the frame being carefully not to put it under any lines etc.