Help! Practical Towing Capacity

P

pjheg

I really like the North Trail trailers. But, I’m new to this and trying to determine how big a travel trailer (TT) I can safely tow with my SUV (TV). The info I’ve seen is a bit confusing. I’d really appreciate input from an experienced source I can rely on.

My TV particulars:
- 2007 Toyota Sequoia Ltd; 4.7L V8 273 HP; 4.10, with towing package. Curb wt 5140#; GWVR 6600#; GCWR 11,800#; GAWR (Axel) - Front 3160#; Rear 3900#; max hitch weight 650#; wheelbase 118”. Stated towing capacity: 6500# with a weight-distribution hitch.
- My estimated actual GVW is 6320# (curb 5140#+two people 330#+misc cargo 200#, and assumed max tongue wt. 650#.

I’ve been told the primary relevant number is the TV’s 6500# towing capacity; that we can tow a TT of 4500# dry wt (+/- 5500# loaded) with a weight distribution hitch and still be safely under the limit for our TV. This gives me a 1000# safety margin on paper.

HOWEVER, in viewing forum trailer limit discussions, I see references of “the 80% rule” to be safest, but it’s unclear as to how it is applied. Questions: Is this rule-of-thumb valid? If so, is it applied to the GCWR (TV+TT) or the GVWR of the trailer (TT only)? For our situation:
- 80% of the TV 6500# towing capacity yields a 5200# TT est. GVW (i.e., a TT dry wt of 4200# + 1000# cargo).
- 80% of the 11800# GCWR is 9440#, and subtracting our est. 6320# TV GVW, yields a 3120# TT est. GVW (i.e. like only a tent trailer)

Big difference! What is our practical limit with this TV? We don’t want to be pulling up a grade at 25 MPH. Thanks very much.:confused:

Ray LeTourneau

Senior Member - Past Moderator