How to get rid of RV Antifreeze smell in fresh water tank?

SailorDon

I'm new to travel trailers. I bought my 2014 Wilderness 2175 RB in July 2013. When the freezing weather came, I drained the tanks per the owner's manual and added 6 gallons of RB antifreeze and pumped it through the system.
It did it's job in preventing plumbing pipe freeze. I de-winterized a few weeks before the freezing weather ended (got fooled by mother nature). Spent a few nights in the travel trailer with the heat on rather then going though the time consuming process of winterizing with RV anti-freeze again.

The problem is that after flushing the fresh water tank and hot water heater 4 or 5 times, the water from the fresh water tank still has an RV-antifreeze odor. I can't taste it, but the odor is objectionable. I wouldn't use it as drinking water, and I haven't tried to use it for cooking. It's OK for washing dishes.

Is there any way to get the RV anti-freeze smell out of the fresh water tank and water heater?
Should I flush the water tank and hot water heater 10 times? That seems excessive.
Note: When I switch to city water supply, the smell goes away.

Nabo

Southeast Region Director-Retired
If you have the fresh water drain line (it will be a line under the camper), open the drain and run water thru the tank letting it drain out the bottom. If that doesn't do it, you might have to mix a small amount of bleach with a gallon of water, letting it set for a little while and then flush the lines.

boatto5er

Founding VA Chap Ldr (Ret)
A water and bleach solution may do the trick. However, you shouldn't need to put RV anti-freeze in either the Fresh water tank or the Hot Water Heater. They can both be drained. There are by-pass valves in your rig to avoid getting the RV anti-freeze in your HWH when winterizing. Do a google search on the internet and you'll find lots of videos and articles on winterizing.

porthole

Retired
You added antifreeze to your water heater?