What are common problems to check for after towing?

Seren

Pick-up our Grand Canyon a few weeks ago and towed it 400 miles home. We had a couple of minor issues after towing. Nuts holding both lamp shades over island came off (only found one) and plumbing under kitchen sink came loose, which cause some minor leaking under sink (was not a problem when we stayed two nights for our PDI). I am sure that both of these happened becauce it is new and those items were not tightened completely at the factory.
As a newbie I have a couple of questions: (1) are there items that should be normally checked everytime the RV is towed for any significant distance (200+ miles)? (2) Since there will be vibrations anytime you travel, what precautions should be taken with organizing the load? Obviously, the heaver items/breakable should be in the lower cabinets. Also our dealer said that you should always put all blinds up or else the bottoms will bang against the walls and eventully damage them. Any other tips and tricks?

Sent from my iPad using Tapatalk HD

JohnD

Moved on to the next thing...
Our two bathroom slider doors have slid loose while on the road, despite having them 'snapped' like they are supposed to be.

The roller rails are both bent . . . but now they don't slide loose while on the road!

I don't think I'm going to bother fixing this issue.

And our kitchen drawers like to slide open while traveling . . .

Haven't worked up a fix for them yet.

StarryNight

Retired Colorado Chapter Leaders
If you have a ceiling fan: we check to make sure all screws are tight. We learned to do this because one time one of the fan blades was loose and hung down just enough to get hit by the slide coming in. Didn't break but got our attention!
I remove the microwave glass turntable and store it.
The recliner handles face out away from the wall when the recliners are in the "stored position" because the handles were damaging the wall the other way.