Noob - Non-owner

PapaJack

Howdy fellow RVers... I am currently the owner if a 29' TT made by brand X, (no other brand troll here)... and I have a delima. Just less than 4 years ago, I had no grandchildren... now I have 6... I am comfortable but not wealthy. I have 3.5 years until retirement. I am considering trading up because of these things, especially all of my new fishing buddies. I currently tow with a 1/2 ton, and the numbers say I can go a bit larger and heavier than the 6,200# I am currently towing, but I won't. I have to upgrade to a 3/4 - ton pickup first, for my own safety and peace of mind.

All that diatribe out of the way, I am probably 2 years out from trading up, but I will want to know as much as possible about the brands I am interested in before that time comes. So today, I looked at a Sundance TT ... SD310BHCK. Door sticker announced the Platinum package and I was impressed. Being an old aircraft mechanic, I am always trying to look past the glitz to the workings of things to see how well it's going to hold up. It's kind of hard to do with the underbelly all closed. This particular one having 2 large slides, I was looking for the slide mechanism and didn't get too far. However the slides looked a lot heavier than brand X... and extend out twice as far. They looked well made from what I saw, but I couldn't see much. I was impressed with the leveling system, and the axles. My current unit has Torflex axles and sits very low in comparison.... The levelers are much heavier and closer to the axles, and the sales guy said they are actually levellers. This particular one had 2 air conditioners, too... a real plus for this part of the country.

I liked what I saw. However, being an old West Texan, real world experience trumps sales talk and glitz every day... so please tell me your Sundance TT experiences, good or bad. I want to know all I can about this brand, and this manufacturer. Thanks in advance!

Jack

danemayer

Hi PapaJack,