About to go fulltime...but what to get?

GHachtel

Hello All,

I am brand new to the idea of full timing and have some questions concerning all of the possible RV's out there. First off, you should know that I will be full-timing with me and a dog (no big family yet). However, that being said, I will not be traveling very far, at least in the first few years. I am starting a career in Douglas, WY (windy and cold). With the current boom in oil, renting a place is far too expensive and buying, well that's another story, but still out of the question. Staying at the local KOA seems be the best option. I plan live out of a 5th wheel or travel trailer for a few years before settling down and buying. That being said, I have no idea what the best RV for the occasion will be.

Ideally, I would like to keep the RV for future cross-country trips (so not an extended-stay type), and I would also like one that is spacious (has a "home" feel to it), has ample storage and is 4-seasons rated (not freezing during Wyoming winters is a must!). Any thoughts? I would greatly appreciate any advice anyone could give me! Thank you in advance!

danemayer

Hi GHachtel,

Living in extremely cold weather can be challenging. We've gone on extended ski trips in the Colorado mountains for the last 4 years with temperatures down to -30F. There are 2 major issues: staying comfortable, and keeping the water systems from freezing. Of the 2, keeping the water systems from freezing can be the more challenging.