Rear Camera

I've looked around some, but I want to find a camera that we can see behind the 5th wheel when we are driving. Not necessarily a backup camera, but a rear camera. Am I understanding this correctly that the camera on the rear is wired but the screen to view is wireless? I would think with technology today it would be some sort of blue tooth thing that we can use to see whats behind us. I see backup cameras but that's not what I'm looking for. Anyone have one?

Nabo

Southeast Region Director-Retired
We used one on our other camper with not much luck. It was a wireless and the distance from the rear of the camper to the cab of the truck was too long for the signal to go thru the body of the camper. Worked great when you were making a turn (like at an intersection) but not straight line driving. We have since installed a hard wired back-up camera which we are only using for backing in. That works great.

uncledon

Her chauffeur
I'm an electronics maintenance technician for an automotive supplier and work with digital equipment and processors every day. Wired will always be better when you are talking about transferring data of any sort. That being said, I have been running a rear view camera setup for a number of years now to keep an eye on my bass boat that I haul behind my trailer. I had it on my '02 Wildcat and now have installed it on my Bighorn. I have a Pioneer FB500T gps system mounted in the cab of my truck with a video input that accommodates the camera. The camera I purchased from a Canadian company that supplied the camera, cable that spans the length of your trailer, 4-pin connection receptacles, and a coil cable that connects from your trailer at the pin box to your tow vehicle. I installed both a seven pin trailer receptacle and my camera receptacle inside the box of my truck for connection. The camera coil cable wraps nicely around the trailer cable so everything is neat and tidy when traveling.