PDA

View Full Version : Running the Genny at night!!!!

Blue Oval
08-27-2014, 10:16 PM
We bought our RW 310 for the convenience it would give us when dry camping. As a firefighter I am well aware of the dangers of carbon monoxide poisoning. I thought one of the advantages of having the generator would be that you could sleep at night with A/C. The manuals stated numerous times to not use the generator when sleeping. I want to be safe, but don't want to be sweating all night when I'm trying to sleep. Does anyone else run their generator when sleeping? I would keep several windows own and a fan running to keep the air circulating.

jnbhobe
08-27-2014, 10:21 PM
I run mine at night when I have to but its very quiet ( Honda ) I know some that use a Gen-Turi that takes the exhaust up over the roof

Jim.Allison
08-28-2014, 12:12 AM
The Onan 5500 LP burnes .8 gallons per hour. It would be dangerous if for some reason it entered your rig while sleeping, but this is a game of math. How much CO can enter your rig when your generator is properly exhausted? Your pipe would almost have to be blowing into your rig. Its hard to get much CO from burning .8 gallons per hour, most of that is drifting away in the atmosphere.

That does not sound like much, but CO is not a normal gas. It accumulates in the body over time until you die. It takes longer for the body to remove CO than it does to take it in, this is what makes it so poisonous.

Your alarm should alert you to CO through, So I guess if you wanted to protect yourself from the unlikely but deadly event of being poisoned, by your generator burning .8 gallons per hour, you could add a second CO detector.