Slider hitch needed?

MagnoliaTom

We are about to get a new 38tsrt. The salesman claims we don't need a slider. So does the elkridge brochure and video I've watched. But, everything I've ever heard was you still need a slider, even if the fifth wheel has the short bed friendly cap. Do I need a slider or not?

cookie

Administrator
Staff member
I have been towing Bighorns for seven years and do not have a slider.
Never needed one.

Peace
Dave

FiremanBill

I had a slider in my old F-250 short bed and never used it in the back position. I came close to the cab a time or two but never got close enough to warrant it.

etcmss

I'm still new to this (< 2 years) and when I bought mine (a BH 3260EL) they said no it will turn the 88 degrees and you don't need one...
In my last return home during backing I did have contact with truck cab (has a slight dent now)....so it is your choice to avoid a mishap. my street is narrow and driveway is narrow also it's a tight turn. I now intend to use mine to avoid this---maybe won't need when I get great at backing. Gary

Dean-Pam

I have Pullrite Superglide and since it is "automatic" engaged when backing, can't say if I needed it, though there have been some really tight spots I have had to back into, I am glad I have it. By "automatic", I mean I don't have to pull any pins to reposition the hitch away from the cab, nor do I have to remember to center the hitch manually when I pull forward. It is a really good product IMHO and as long as I have a short bed truck, I will have the Superglide as my hitch.

Sumo

We are about to get a new 38tsrt. The salesman claims we don't need a slider. So does the elkridge brochure and video I've watched. But, everything I've ever heard was you still need a slider, even if the fifth wheel has the short bed friendly cap. Do I need a slider or not?

What kind of a truck are using to pull the 5th wheel with, Long Bed or Short Bed, Chevy, Ford, Dodge?

Sumo