Is this unit compatable as a replacement for the stock DVD/stereo?

TxCowboy

http://www.crutchfield.com/p_113DDX371/Kenwood-DDX371.html?tp=5684

Need to replace the stock DVD/stereo player in a 2011 Greystone 32RL. Went to the Crutchfield website and did a brief online chat with one of their people only to learn that they haven't researched stereo system compatibility in RVs.

Looking at the Kenwood DDX 371. Is this system a viable replacement for the stock system?

The link is above.

If this system isn't a good replacement, do you have a recommendation?

Thanks!

Jim.Allison

Im no expert but I can tell you what I did;

I bought a 500 watt Yamaha receiver "package" at Best Buy. I got the receiver and speakers for a reasonable price. It is a very good home theater system. I abandoned the Big Country speakers but left them in place. You can't use them with typical home theater systems as their impedance is to low. They might last a little while as long as you don't put any volume in them. If you want surround sound you can add a dongle that will bluetooth the signal to speakers you can place behind your listening position. With the sound quality I achieved, I did not pursue the surround feature.

My kit came with left, right, center speakers, two speakers for the surround system, and a subwoofer. it automatically checks the environment for the balance and tones to give the best sounds. It is a tremendous improvement over the OEM system.

IF you are into solar power and run off an inverter it consumes about 5 amps, in addition to the internal power consumption of the inverter. If you are on shore power then you don't care.

The upshot is that any home theater system will work but you will probably have to abandon the OEM speakers in favor of the quality speakers that come with a package or speakers of your choice. I recommend receivers that use separate components such as Blu Ray dvd player. Builtins create problems as far as I'm concerned.