underbelly heating

I'm sorry if I put questions in the wrong place. please bear with me i'm new at this fourm. I have a 2014 Bighorn it uses the furnace to heat the underbelly I try to conserve propane usage so I use space heaters for most of the inside heat. the temp. where I am at gets down into the low 20's. what is a good temp to set my thermostat to? will that also keep the exposed water lines from bursting or freezing .

Speedy

I have found that a setting of 68 for inside the coach keeps the underbelly and basement areas in the upper 40s to 50s when the outside temps are in the 10s and 20s. That data was measured in Minnesota and Campbellsville, KY over the past two winters. I also supplement our propane heat with one electric heater in the bedroom and the fireplace in the living room.

danemayer

Hi gerald-mullen56,

If you're using space heaters, they may keep the thermostat from ever calling for heat from the furnace. If the furnace doesn't come on in the evening, before you go to bed, it may not be protecting the underbelly components overnight. If it does come on a few times in the evening, it probably will be ok.

fredwrichardson

Past New Mexico Chapter Leader
I'm sorry if I put questions in the wrong place. please bear with me i'm new at this fourm. I have a 2014 Bighorn it uses the furnace to heat the underbelly I try to conserve propane usage so I use space heaters for most of the inside heat. the temp. where I am at gets down into the low 20's. what is a good temp to set my thermostat to? will that also keep the exposed water lines from bursting or freezing .