Towing a 2009 Cyclone 3795 with a new Silverado 2500HD?

Rearley

I’m new to the form and have a question on a 2009 Cyclone 3795 towing weight.

I have a 2015, Silverado 4x4, crew cab, 4.10 axle, 6.5' bed, with a 6.0L gas engine. The Chevy book has Maximum trailer weight of 14,000 lb. and GCWR of 20,500 for a fifth-wheel trailer.

Long story short, can I pull the Cyclone 3795 through Indiana, Kentucky and Tennessee ok?

jimtoo

Hi Rearly,

Welcome to the Heartland Owners Forum and to the family. We have a great bunch of folks here with lots of information and all willing to share their knowledge when needed.

If you have questions about anything in/on your unit, you can usually find the answer right here.

Also be sure and check out our Heartland Owners Club. Join us at a rally when you can and meet lots of the great folks here and make friends for a lifetime.

Enjoy the forum and your new unit.

Jim M

AAdams

Hello and welcome to the forum. From looking on the internet at used ones for sale I found that the Cyclone's dry weight is 11,950 and pin is 2380. The max gvwr of the cyclone is 18k. So assuming you
are pulling it with nothing in it and no upgrades from the original stripped down version, yes technically you could pull it. But, that said, add the weight of upgrades to the trailer, passengers, and other items in the truck and you will be over. IMHO, I wouldn't do it. If you run your truck at or over the max you could damage something.
The Math; 20500 Max GCWR
- 6525 Curb weight of a basic CC 2500 HD WT
-11950 Cyclone base dry weight ( before upgrades and options )
Leaves 2025 lbs total for passengers, cargo, propane, water, 5th wheel hitch, options and upgrades on the truck and trailer.

Max payload of 2500HD is 3152 lbs - 2380 pin weight= 772 lbs for passengers, fuel, 5th wheel hitch and cargo in the truck itself. This 772 lbs is included in the 2025 capacity stated above, not in addition to.

To sum it up, I wouldn't do it.

sengli