Inverter Install Question

Redrider007

I'm new to the luxury Rvs and need to know how I would go about installing an inverter that would run my Tvs when I'm boondocking? I have a generator but really don't want to run that just to watch an occasional show.

Thanks for any help!!

wdk450

I installed an inverter big enough to run my microwave - 1500 watts. I also upped my battery system to 4 Group 24 deep cycle units. I got a "pure sine wave" type inverter off of E-Bay for less than $300. This type should work with any electronic devices. The "modified sine" inverters cause a lot of electronic devices to mess up. Since I have the generator prep option, I have a transfer switch in place in my AC feed wiring circuit. I just wired the inverter AC output to where the generator normally inputs AC into the transfer switch. I even wired a shadow "power on" switch in parallel with the inverter's own power switch, and ran the wiring for that to the power control center. I can switch on the inverter from there, and it supplies power to the whole rig. Be aware of what AC items are turned on when you go on inverter power. Make sure any high current items are off (Air Cond., water heater, microwave, refrig on AC), and turn off the individual breaker for the battery charger/converter (since using battery power to try to charge the batteries is just a waste of power).
The funny thing is that I have only boondocked a couple of times since I installed it.

scottyb