Towing With Shortbed Truck

REMTA

Is anyone using a shortbed truck to tow a 2015 Big Country and if so are you using a standard hitch or a slider?

Ed

Lynn1130

I think if you do a search you will find a large list of answers to this question here. I am not familiar with the Big Country but if you have the 89 degree turn front cap you will have no problems with the short bed and a non-slider. I have been towing my Cyclone for 4+ years with a shortbed/no slider with no problems at all. Some will tell you they like the peace of mind with the slider but it is not necessary.

Oregon_Camper

I went through the same questions about 5 months ago. A lot of great feedback here on sliders and non slider hitching solutions. In the end, I went with the Airbone Sidewinder, which moves the pivot point of your kingpin back 22 inches. Now I have peace of mind and don't have to worry about all the hassle and all the room a typical slider hitch uses in the back of my truck.

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=WkL0CPmqx6U

brianlajoie

I have an ulta glide in my short bed for my Big Horn trailer. I consider it an insurance policy against possible damage to the cab. I also like the adjustable flange on the hitch to prevent any chucking when going down the road.

JohnD

Moved on to the next thing...
I'm getting ready to do this right now . . .

We are moving up to a 5th-wheel next week and was advised to get a slider for my 2015 Chevy Siverado 2500HD shortbox.

We worked it into the deal . . . but still not too late to change!

If I were not to get the slider for our new Heartland Prowler P292 . . . what should I get?

Maybe I should start a new thread with that question . . .

travelin2

Pennsylvania Chapter Leaders-retired
Regardless of the hitch work a MorRyde king pin into the deal. Saves a lot of chucking and bounce. Really smooth ride. See how much my takes up in this pic...
c8b3cdca376c66b649290b3b4dcf62cb.jpg

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

Nabo