Leveling Device and Question

jonesj2

I am not purchasing the device just seen it.

While at Camping World yesterday I say this 5th Wheel Leveler (see link below), I read it and understand how it works but my question is is this how you level the front of a 5th wheel? I know I always try and level the wheels first and hope that does the trick.

I am new to this 5th wheel leveling as I have only been out 3 time in the 5th wheel, so how do you level the front end if your level shows off a little bit.//heartlandowners.org/images/icons/icon5.gif

http://www.campingworld.com/browse/skus/index.cfm?skunum=17329&src=SRQB

I also posted on another forum so you may have seen this post before.None

leveling device

I installed one on my camper and it works great. First I drop the opposite leg until it touches my blocks then you you drop the leg with the leveler till it locks in place. Unscrew the leveler till it touches the block and continue to lower the front jacks until the trailer is level. This prevents you from having to use shimms under the jack foot.

driver311

legs

well this looks like a waste of good money!!!! just set one leg or the other in different holes. u should always use some kind of wood or plastic under the legs because the area of the feet aren't large enough to support the weight of the trailer.

driver311NoneNone

truknutt

Committed Member
Jim,

I had a set of these on my last 5er and will start by saying that these should only be used to "fine-tune" how your landing gear contacts the ground. You are correct in getting the Sundance's tires situated first. Then some of us drop the landing gear (manually) to the ground and replace the pins before using the motor to raise or lower the unit. If you have a noticeable difference in the gap between the footpad and the ground this is when you "fine tune" so the front end doesn't twist and bend (creak-n-groan).