Converter not working

Jim_037

I have a 2011 Greystone 32re, My converter stopped working , I tried pushing the reset button on the bus bar but this did not work. My converter is under the stairs. What is the best way to get to it to replace it or test it and how would i go about testing it to make sure that its bad before i spend a bunch of money on a wild goose chase?. I am New to rv ownership and would appreciate all info. Thanks

danemayer

Hi Jim_037,

Hopefully someone with a Greystone like yours knows the answer on where the converter is located and will chime in. If not, you might call Heartland Customer Service at 877-262-8032 / 574-262-8030. Have your VIN # ready. They should be able to tell you.

There are typically 3 fuses on the converter. If someone was connecting the battery cables and caused an arc, that could have blown a fuse. Once you get to the converter, you'll see the fuses.

It's also possible that the converter plug has vibrated out of its outlet. If that's the case, when you re-plug, tie it down so it doesn't happen again.

And don't forget to check the 110V circuit breakers. If the breaker has tripped, the converter won't get any power to convert.

The easiest test for the converter is to put a voltmeter on the battery terminals. With converter working, voltage will be somewhere around 13.4V. Without the converter, the best you'd see would be maybe 12.4V.

You might find our 12V Block Diagram and Diagnostic Guide helpful in troubleshooting the problem.

swburbguy

If the inverters are unplugging from our fine highway system, has anyone tried replacing both plug and receptacle with twist lock?

danemayer

If the inverters are unplugging from our fine highway system, has anyone tried replacing both plug and receptacle with twist lock?

It's happens enough to mention, but it's not really all that commonplace. And it's more a problem with the plug fitting loosely than with the highways.

swburbguy