Gateway RK slide issues

GrandmaD

Hi,

I am new to the Heartland family. My husband and I purchased what we thought would be our ideal camper. Although we still really like our Gateway (and cannot afford to change to another fifth wheel), we have had some issues since we took it out on the road last May. The kitchen sink had a steady leak once the water was turned on (despite faucet being turned off), the latches on the shower doors and closet doors broke, the bathroom faucet leaks, the spare tire holder which is welded on has nearly broken off (so we need to put the tire in the back of our truck), the table is discolored, and the issue that bothers me the most is the large slide with refrigerator, counter, and sofa. At least once one of the drawers has popped open while travelling. Not realizing that the drawer had popped open, my husband opened the slide to the sound of wood breaking. He discovered the problem and got the drawer closed but not without considerable damage to the wood frame that the refrigerator sits in. Additionally, when the counter slides out there is a black gooey mark that is difficult to remove. This happens every time. I just now noticed that since we put the slide out yesterday, there is a black mark on the floor where the slide stops (when put in). There is also a little bit of sawdust on the floor everytime we put this slide out.

Kitchen faucet, bathroom faucet, table, and door latches will all be fixed by dealership. I haven't mentioned the slide issue to them yet nor the spare tire holder (we just noticed this last evening). I am wondering if anyone else with a rear kitchen or long kitchen/counter/sofa slide has had any issues with the slide and the drawer popping open? Or leaving marks on the countertop and/or floor? I can't help but think that this is some sort of manufacturing defect.