Cold weather questions

Hello all, I am a newbie RV owner and have questions about cold weather camping. I have read most of the articles on this site but have a few questions of my own. Any wisdom or advice is appreciated. I recently bought a 2016 Landmark Newport. I was going to order one with all the options I wanted but opted for one on the lot and the dealer made all the upgrades I wanted (Onan generator, washer dryer etc...) The only thing I did not get was the Yeti package. I want to camp in colder climates and some day possibly even go full time in this Rv in the colder climates. My big questions are as follows.....Can the dealer install cold weather equipment easily? I know I will need tank pad heaters and the fresh supply line from the tank to the pump needs to be wrapped. Is this a hard install and will it mess up the underbelly and insulation? I know I will also need a heat tape and insulation on my fresh water supply line running into the Udc. That part is easy but is that all I need? Are there other areas to consider insulating and wrapping with heat tape? Will the drain lines be okay if I just dump black and grey every few days and then close them back or will water accumulate in these pipes as well and freeze? I know some of these questions may seem silly to the experienced person but I am far from that when it comes to Rving. I hope to learn from the wealth of knowledge available here. Thanks in advance for you comments. I appreciate it. Please feel free to include anything you feel might be relevant knowledge as well.

Eric

danemayer

Hi e_millergy,

A lot depends on how cold you mean. If 28 (F) is the low, you might get away by just running the furnace to keep the underbelly warm. If -30 (F) is what you mean, there's more to do.