Non-storage freezing temperatures

dannyjo83

I am in East Texas with expected temperatures to drop to 29 degrees but not over extended time frame. I am new to RVing and have discussed this issue with RV Service and Parts people. Ice cream salt or RV antifreeze which is better option? Any suggestions for protecting my pipes/holding tanks?

danemayer

Hi dannyjo83,

Ice cream salt? ? ? Never heard that one.

Most of us use either RV antifreeze or compressed air, or both. We have an owner-written Winterization Guide that may be helpful.

If you have a Residential Refrigerator, you'll want to look at the winterizing instructions in the Residential Refrigerator Guide.

When looking at weather forecasts, keep in mind that actual temperatures can often be quite different from the forecast for the reporting station. They may get to 29. You might get to 25.

jmgratz

Original Owners Club Member