Heartland Warranty ?

PMB

I have a 2015 Heartland North Trail 22 FBS travel trailer that we purchased in May of 2015. I noticed some cracking or buckling across the front cap above the marker lights when I was washing the trailer. I showed the dealer we purchased the trailer from, pictures of the cracks on the front cap. The dealer service manager agreed it should be covered under warranty. When the warranty claim was sent in to heartland they rejected it, saying it was not a warrantable defect. I did call the customer service dept. at heartland after the claim was rejected and was told, even if the front cap was replaced the same cracking would happen again. I was wondering if anyone else is having this issue with the front cap cracking.

jrzygrl64

I am no expert, but, we had friends with a different brand rig and when they had a crack in their cap it turned out to be a frame issue and their rig ended up being totaled by the company (they brought it back to the factory for repairs). I would not let this go - pursue until you find the cause of it - I cannot imagine that being normal.

MTPockets

The Gel Coat finish/coating/covering on the fiberglass can sometimes crack and chip, especially at edges and corners. That has no effect on the fiberglass structure, so no harm other than appearance. It'll be interesting to hear why it's not a covered item.

danemayer

I don't think we've had many posts over the past few years discussing front cap problems. One that comes to mind happened at a dealership while the rig was being serviced.

Not having seen pictures yet, it's difficult to understand why warranty coverage would be declined. But some obvious possibilities would be that Heartland believes it's damage from contact with something - perhaps road debris. Or perhaps as Terry mentioned, maybe it's something viewed as a minor cosmetic issue. That's why pictures are helpful.

PMB