PDA

View Full Version : Upfitter Switches.....what have you hooked to them?



Oregon_Camper
02-09-2016, 10:50 PM
When I got my my F-350, it already had the 4 Upfitter Switches installed.

So, I start thinking what can I do with them? Lights somewhere...bed of truck?

Figured why not ask the experts... :cool:

Lets here what you have done with yours or what you would do if you had them.


....sorry to non Ford guys, not sure if other brands have these or not.

42863

Mburtsvt
02-09-2016, 11:01 PM
Fuel pump for the aux tank and I replaced the bottom fog lights with better ones. Two down, two to go.

JanAndBill
02-09-2016, 11:05 PM
Auxillary electric fan in front of the radiator. Have work lights for bed and bumper but not wired yet.

Doublegranch
02-09-2016, 11:40 PM
2016 Ram 3500. I have 5 aux switches.
1= transfer pump from aux tank
2= DC outlets in bed
3=
4=
5= PTO switch runs off the Trans

jmgratz
02-10-2016, 09:59 AM
I hooked up the air compressor for the air bags on switch #4. Thinking about adding another air compressor to another switch for some air train horns as soon as I find the funds.

Lou_and_Bette
02-10-2016, 10:34 AM
Solenoid for auto air bags, did that so I didn't have to turn off truck when I put down landing gear because system saw weight unloaded and blew off air dropping hitch height before I was ready.

TPMS monitor so it didn't beep at me on the cold mornings.

porthole
02-10-2016, 02:50 PM
1 - Auxiliary fuel valve
2 - Idle up
3 - Cameras
4 - Compressor

Aandaar
02-10-2016, 03:11 PM
Solenoid for auto air bags, did that so I didn't have to turn off truck when I put down landing gear because system saw weight unloaded and blew off air dropping hitch height before I was ready.

TPMS monitor so it didn't beep at me on the cold mornings.

Lou

I am having this issue also. How did you set this up? Would love to do this also.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
Chuck, Victoria, and Miss Callie

Bones
02-10-2016, 03:34 PM
When I unhitch mine I slowly take weight off and let the truck adjust. once it adjust I finish the procedure and then unhook the truck.

pegmikef
02-10-2016, 04:21 PM
I just use one for the air bag system.

jnbhobe
02-10-2016, 05:30 PM
#1, Power for air horn soleniod
#2, Air Compressor
#3, TPMS
#4, Aux Fuel transfer soleniod

2psnapod2
02-10-2016, 06:11 PM
I have them in my old truck and new one. How do you access them to hook anything up?

Sent from my SM-G900V using Tapatalk

bigdob24
02-10-2016, 07:24 PM
I have a 350 also with the switches.
Where is the spot to hook them up?
I would use them if I found it easy to hook-up
Dan

jnbhobe
02-10-2016, 07:29 PM
Read your book. There are 4 blunt ends up behind the emergency brake, PIA to get to. I don't remember the colors, and I think you have to pull the panel under the steering wheel.

Geodude
02-10-2016, 09:02 PM
I have bed lights but they're wired into the step lights, so they fade out after a minute. If I need them to stay on I leave a door ajar. I was going to hook them up to an upfitter but I kind of like how they operate now. I have my upfitter switches acting as a power switch for my CB radio, my dash cam, my nav system and my 120V power bar.

Oregon_Camper
02-10-2016, 09:29 PM
.....my dash cam, my nav system and my 120V power bar.

Nice....I'd love to see some pictures of you trucks setup.

- - - Updated - - -



I have them in my old truck and new one. How do you access them to hook anything up?

I have a 350 also with the switches.
Where is the spot to hook them up? I would use them if I found it easy to hook-up

Here are two links I found on YouTube that do a good job of showing you what is involved.
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=oUEs34ot5sA
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=t_KrytQxVBY

Bones
02-10-2016, 09:35 PM
wow they really have those wires jammed up in there

Oregon_Camper
02-10-2016, 09:48 PM
wow they really have those wires jammed up in there

No kidding. Would it killing Ford's profit margins to add say....5 more inches of wire? I know this is asking a lot on a cheap $60,000 rig. LOL :rolleyes:

BLHFUN
02-10-2016, 10:06 PM
1. Built in Radar detector
2. Air bags pump
3. AUX fuel pump for transfer tank.
4. Not used

RoadJunkie
02-11-2016, 09:02 AM
Might be helpful: https://www.fleet.ford.com/truckbbas/non-html/Q117-R2.pdf

2psnapod2
02-11-2016, 09:12 AM
Might be helpful: https://www.fleet.ford.com/truckbbas/non-html/Q117-R2.pdf

Now that is great info. Next question for this not so in the know about Auto Wiring, where are you guys pulling your ground from?

Bones
02-11-2016, 09:15 AM
Now that is great info. Next question for this not so in the know about Auto Wiring, where are you guys pulling your ground from?

The chassis should be grounded
.

jhardin
02-11-2016, 09:32 AM
Fuel pump for the aux tank and Air bag compressor.

- - - Updated - - -

I agree 100%. Standing on a stool and being right handed makes it rough to tap onto the short wires under hood.
https://www.fleet.ford.com/truckbbas/non-html/Q117-R2.pdf also a lot of information on YouTube. Just search for : How to wire uplifter switches in Google.

porthole
02-11-2016, 11:29 AM
Read your book. There are 4 blunt ends up behind the emergency brake, PIA to get to. I don't remember the colors, and I think you have to pull the panel under the steering wheel.

Not only are the up-fitters too short, the wire size is just barely adequate.

The pass through wires are equally too short. Ever try and use the under hood side?

jnbhobe
02-11-2016, 12:04 PM
Nope, I didn't use them, I ran my own

Lou_and_Bette
02-11-2016, 12:49 PM
Lou

I am having this issue also. How did you set this up? Would love to do this also.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
Chuck, Victoria, and Miss Callie

Chuck, I connected the solenoid 5amp fused power wire to one of my upfitter switches, so I can turn the sensor off until unhooked.

- - - Updated - - -


Read your book. There are 4 blunt ends up behind the emergency brake, PIA to get to. I don't remember the colors, and I think you have to pull the panel under the steering wheel.

Jon is right, mine are near base of steering wheel.

jassson007
02-11-2016, 12:52 PM
Compressor for train horns and to activate horns.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

bigdob24
02-11-2016, 06:33 PM
That's a great link
Now that I know where they are I will be hooking things up
Thanks
Dan

Doublegranch
02-11-2016, 06:59 PM
[QUOTE=2psnapod2;468127]Now that is great info. Next question for this not so in the know about Auto Wiring, where are you guys pulling your ground from?

[Not sure about the Ford, but the Ram connections are under the hood with water tight connectors for each wire you are hooking up and a ground position as well.]

2psnapod2
02-11-2016, 07:11 PM
I figured they would at least had a grounding point there.

Sent from my SM-G900V using Tapatalk

Geodude
02-28-2016, 08:30 PM
Nice....I'd love to see some pictures of you trucks setup.

- - - Updated - - -





Here are two links I found on YouTube that do a good job of showing you what is involved.
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=oUEs34ot5sA
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=t_KrytQxVBY

Thanks, and sorry for being slow to respond, we're on the road these days. Here are pix of my GPS mount, dashcam and CB.

43187 43188 43189 43190