City water question from a rookie

stew0720

Hello all. I'm a 5er rookie who just got a Bighorn 3970RD. I've read the Water supplement from the HOM, and it's great info!! I still have just a few questions. Apologies in advance if this is in the wrong forum.

Does the water pump interact with the city water from hose at all? I'm currently at my deer lease, where we have well water with poor water pressure. For showers and other items where we need good pressure, i've filled the tank and i use the water pump. After filling the tank, set the valve back to normal where it is now. I'm assuming when the pump is on, it's drawing only from the tank. When pump is off, it's not pulling from tank, but taking straight from city water line correct? If the tank becomes empty and the pump is on, will it burn the motor? I basically turn the pump on and off only when i need good pressure, as to not drain the tank.

I'm rambling, so i'll sum up my question to see if i have it right:

Does the water pump interact with the city water line at all, or just pump straight from the filled tank?
Tank Full, Valve set to Normal (City water) with hose on, Pump OFF: takes from city water only (doesn't draw from tank at all?)
Tank Full, Valve set to Normal (City water) with hose on, Pump ON: draws from tank only, no city water interaction?
If pump is on and tank runs empty, will it immediately burn motor or does it know to shut off?

Also: how often do you guys flush the black water tank?

thanks in advance!

Last edited by a moderator:

TxCowboy

Here's my understanding on your questions:

Does the water pump interact with the city water line at all, or just pump straight from the filled tank?

Filled tank only.

Tank Full, Valve set to Normal (City water) with hose on, Pump OFF: takes from city water only (doesn't draw from tank at all?)