Grey and Black tank valves

Help!!! I have been RVing for many years and dont think I am doing anything wrong before having to look in owners manual (lol), but it seems I can not get black tank to ever drain past 3/4 full. I have a Cyclone 4250 with two places to drain tanks, Gray water tank 1 box and Gray water tank 2 box. Both have 2 valaves. I am assuming if you open all four valves, both gray tnks and black tank will drain at same time. I seem to have good flow coming out of drain pipe. Why isnt the black draining more than 3/4 tank? I am thinking, possible clog or bad sensor. I dont know, but dont want to get caught on a trip where I cant use toilets. Please tell me what each valve does in each tank box. And how do I specifically drain black tank so I can tell if it is sensor or clog? Thank you very much. Hank Miller

danemayer

Re: Cyclone 4250 Gray and Black tank vavles

Hank,

If you're judging by the tank sensors, know that they are extremely unreliable; particularly the black tank sensor. A bit to TP stuck on the sensor will give a false reading. Most people judge when to dump the black tank either by calendar or by the "burp" that starts when it's about full.

If you add a twist-on clear adapter on the sewer outlet, you'll have a much better idea of what's happening when you open the gate valves. You'll find additional help in our owner-written Water Systems Guide.

Lynn1130

Look up the "Geo Method" and give that a try. See if that cleans out the tank and helps clear up the gauge. I may take a couple of times. And I suggest draining the black prior to opening the gray.

Domi

To see if your black tank is drained if the toilet is just over it, turn off the water, flush keep the ball open and look in the tank with a flashlight. If you don't see anything it is at least empty. Not clean but empty. Also make sure you have a tight hold on the flashlight.

John

JohnD

Moved on to the next thing...