Insurance. Are you properly protected?

MTPockets

Does your RV insurance give you the coverage you really want, or need? I am by no means an insurance expert, but wanted to share a "discovery" some may already know about, but I guess others probably don't know. We have had full timers coverage for the past 4+ years and discussed at length with the agents the coverages so we would be properly protected. And, always felt comfortable with what we had. Due to June's injury, we can't use the Big Horn, so it is now for sale for a bargain price and currently on an RV Consignment lot. What I learned about insurance is that our policy does not cover the unit if in the hands of a dealer or consignment agent; nor did mine offer a rider. Doing some research I found that is the case with most insurers. The thinking being that it's out of our control, therefor no insurance. We did find coverage and switched. It made me wonder too, how many other coverage gaps do we live with due to lack of knowledge...

MCTalley

We, too, have our 3950FB at a consignment lot. At the time we were taking it down there, I checked and found that the insurance it was currently covered under (Good Sam via National General) does not offer consignment coverage. We had put our current rig under Blue Sky insurance, so I checked with them and they did offer consignment riders, so we switched the other rig over to them as well.

The sad part was that when I told all this to the gentleman at the consignment lot who was drawing all the paperwork up for me, he said most people generally don't tell their insurance about it being up for consignment and some even cancel their insurance. I went ahead and covered mine, anyway. It was less than $200 a year for the rider. I can just picture someone suing me for tripping over something in our unit while looking through it.

Jim-Lynn

Ours is quite simple in Ontario...
Your pulling the rig - under truck insurance
Parked at home - under home insurance