Long bed truck vs. short bed truck??

JandK

Hi folks. We will be fulltimers next year and have begun our truck shopping - yikes! So many options! My question for today - do most of you pull your Landmark with a long bed truck? We looked at RAM trucks today and the 3500 dually comes only in the long bed. If you are pulling with a long bed truck, can you tell me the advantages and disadvantages of having such a long truck? I am assuming the obvious difficulties in parking lot spaces, but are there other things we need to be thinking about, good or bad?? Thanks for the help!

Soon to be Newport owners

Last edited by a moderator:

TXBobcat

Fulltime
I have been fulltiming since 2007 & I have a long bed. Yes it is a bit harder to park but I just park away from all the crowd. I have a 45gal. Aux tank so I don't have to fill up with the trailer connected. I carry a set of wooden steps that were built by a friend so my wife could enter and leave the trailer easier. I like the B&W hitch because it is easy to remove if I want to haul something and the long bed gives me that advantage. I would always go with the long bed if I had to get another truck.

BC

I went from a long bed 2010 ram 3500 crew cab to a 2015 ram 3500 mega cab short bed last year. I needed a truck 7" shorter to fit length wise in the garage. The mega cab short bed is 10" shorter. I can close the garage door with 1 1/2" clearance in the front and back now
The only difference I can tell besides gobbs of back seat space is the Rv looks real close in the rear view mirror

the 88 degree turn cap on the cyclone is great. I tried it out on some loose gravel with the new tow vehicle. I hope I never have to do that in a camp ground. But it looked like I could jack knife it a full 90 degrees if I needed to and had a spotter.

Im more concerned with clearance to the bed rails

my wife and I took the Rv to British Columbia a couple of years ago what a trip !!!